Center for Faculty Development

Awards and Funding

Erwin and Priscilla Boschmann Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Grant

This grant opportunity is made possible through the generous contribution of Erwin and Priscilla Boschmann. This award is offered annually to full‐time faculty to support research in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) at Indiana University East.

Faculty Fellowship in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

Each year, the Center for Faculty Development offers one Faculty Fellowship in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL). This opportunity is designed to offer faculty members an opportunity to cultivate and share their knowledge, techniques, and information on a particular teaching topic. This is an excellent opportunity for new and experienced faculty to build a foundation or develop a new research trajectory in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning.

Teaching Awards

There are a number of awards granted each year to recognize the most outstanding teachers at Indiana University and IU East.

IUE Teaching Awards:

Helen Lees Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Helen Lees Award was established in 1991. Professor Emeritus Lees passed away in 1992, but her spirit continues in the award IU East presents each year. It is to honor a full-time faculty member who has taught at least 10 semesters at IU East.

New Faculty Teaching Award

This award recognizes excellence in teaching by an untenured faculty member throughout their first four years at IU East. Calls for nominations are typically sent out in January with dossiers due in March.

All IU Teaching Awards:

Sample dossiers for all teaching awards are located at the Center for Faculty Development.

Community Engagement CED Grant

In an effort to promote the intersection of community engagement and pedagogy, the Chancellor’s office has designated course development funds to support IUE faculty interested in incorporating community engagement activities into their courses.

The grant is designed to assist faculty as they develop new or modify preexisting courses based on the use of best practices in service learning course design and assessment. All full‐time faculty at IU East are eligible to submit proposals.